2021-11-04 TestFlight 26

Once I had the Turbo working, and I was happy with its performance, it was time to finish the hours on the Flight Testing.

I made the decision that high altitude testing and endurance testing would be combined and a baseline for fuel flow and usage could be established. So the plan was to make an extended flight at altitude. It would give me great data on the turbo operation and the fuel use associated with it.

So after a long taxi, I took off from runway 32, and head eastwards. During the inital climb I turned on the Turbo and didn’t turn it off until after landing. I climbed to 3500 Ft MSL and leaned the engine.

After turning northeast, I decided to go more north and climb once again, to 6500ft MSL. The Turbo MP remained oscillating around 29.0 “MP, a little high but workable. The pressure sometimes got close to 31”, which should be the cutoff, but I am not sure if the dump valve actuated and thus the MP went lower, as the system is designed to do, or the controller responded and lowered the MP. Either way, the Turbo pressure remained within limits.

What was also clear, and it showed later in the data, that at the higher altitudes, the MP is more stable. Not clear if that has to do with RPM setting, leaning, or any other factor.

After a flight west I flew to the northwest side of my testbox, and then descended towards Smyrna airport, and landed back on runway 32. I flew another 2.0 hours and am now getting close to the 40hr minimum fight time. I hope to finish testing this week.

About Sieders Family

I am a homebuilder of a Velocity XL-5 FG homebuilt aircraft. I got in May 2011, taken over from Tom Tolton who started with the kit and decided to sell it when he was almost done with the shell of the airplane. We also started a North American Harvard Mk.IV restoration. Together with a school in Nashville, we hope to get this plane airborne again. A new project we have is the building of our new home in the Duchy Estate in North Carolina. We hope it will be complete spring 2023.
This entry was posted in Flying. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.