2016-07  Hangar Space.

While the airplane has been in the upholstery hangar, I have been searching for hangar space. I had some feelers out in different places. About a month ago, I thought I was in business. Smyrna air center told me I would be number four on their list, for three hangars spaces opening up. Either I would move to the first spot, or get a hangar of someone declined the space.

That was just before the Blue Angels crash the day before the air show on the field. The FBO was hosting the Angels. I decided to not call for two weeks. They had their hands full with other things.

So I emailed two weeks after to remind them to send me the contract to read over, and give me an update about the hangar situation. I received an email back two days later, that they had sent the contract already (never received it) and they had changed their policy to not rent out hangar space to experimentals anymore. No reason given.

Today, for letting it sink in, I replied and asked the reason behind their policy change. Since my airplane is mostly finished, it would not differ from bringing a certified airplane by road onto the field, assemble the wings onto it and get it flying. I hope to hear from them what makes my plane different so not to rent space to me.

I am somewhat perplexed about this. We will see if I get an answer, or maybe a change of heart. To be continued..

About Sieders Family

I am a homebuilder of a Velocity XL-5 FG homebuilt aircraft. I got in May 2011, taken over from Tom Tolton who started with the kit and decided to sell it when he was almost done with the shell of the airplane. We also started a North American Harvard Mk.IV restoration. Together with a school in Nashville, we hope to get this plane airborne again. A new project we have is the building of our new home in the Duchy Estate in North Carolina. We hope it will be complete spring 2023.
This entry was posted in Background info. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.