2021-10-27. TestFlight 24.

This test would be to test the turbo system, and other engine settings, mainly throttle. I also wanted to check to see if my magnometer issue returned from the last flight, where I experienced a mismatch.

The startup was quite normal, but right away I noticed the very high Idle setting of 1050rpm. I will need to adjust that once I return. I taxied out, performed a runup and ATC cleared me to taxi to runway 32, ideal for a “adjusted engine” take off. Another short runup was performed and no magnometer mismatch this time.

I decided to stay in the pattern for at least one circuit before I would venture away from the airport. I was cleared for take off following a slow archer. I added T/O power, and I got 28.4” manifold pressure, pretty nominal. Halfway in the roll, at 40 knots, I turned the turbo switch to ON. Manifold pressure responded and I received 29.6” pressure. Other engine parameters were as expected.

Airborne at 80 kts, nose wheel at 75kias. Accelerated to 100 kias, and climbed with 900 ft/min to 2000ft, for a faster circuit to see how the engine performed. I requested a low approach, approved and started my descend back down. All the while manifold remained at 28.9”, a little higher but it made me smile.

After the low approach and initial climbing I requested a turn to the east, and was approved via a Right turnout. I continued the climb and stayed just below the class C until passing the boundary and continued the climb, while maneuvering a little more north for inbound traffic to the field.

At 2500 ft I started to notice that the manifold pressure was diminishing slightly. By the time I got to 4000ft MSL, I was down to 26.7” MP. Clearly I was still losing pressure. No Eureka moment..yet.

I flew a little longer and tried turning the turbo switch ON and OFF, and measuring differences in MP. There seemed to be no pressure increase at all..

I landed after 0.7hrs airborne and shut down at the hangar. I would be down to my last option, that I know to check.

About Sieders Family

I am a homebuilder of a Velocity XL-5 FG homebuilt aircraft. I got in May 2011, taken over from Tom Tolton who started with the kit and decided to sell it when he was almost done with the shell of the airplane. We also started a North American Harvard Mk.IV restoration. Together with a school in Nashville, we hope to get this plane airborne again. A new project we have is the building of our new home in the Duchy Estate in North Carolina. We hope it will be complete spring 2023.
This entry was posted in Flying. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.